ABIOTIC have announced a new album!

Titled Ikigai, the upcoming album from the technical death metal band is their first full-length effort since 2015’s Casuistry and is scheduled to be released in February next year, via The Artisan Era.

Cover art for the upcoming album was handled by Caelan Stokkermans known for his work with SOREPTION, CATTLE DECAPITATION, and FIRES IN THE DISTANCE. Ikigai was engineered, produced, mixed, and mastered by Tony Simone at Zenbeast Media. Vocals were recorded and produced by Nick Loiacono at Fang Studios.

Speaking about the upcoming album, guitarist John Matos says, “our intention behind Ikigai was to come back with a vengeance. As it has been over five years since our last release, we wanted to put together the most cohesive, diverse, deep, and brain shattering record we possibly could and I feel like we’ve achieved that and more with this album. Having written this over the course of the last couple of years and finishing this record during a pandemic, the feelings we sought to bring out with this record; pain, grief, desperation, and perseverance are palpable in every note, every chord, and every word, with lyrics touching on topics of suicide, depression, addiction, climate change and the struggle of finding our reason for being.

We wanted to make this record real and relatable in every sense. This album is without a doubt the best material we’ve ever put together, with brand new elements, and a production/mix that has taken our sound to new heights. The addition of Tony Simone and Kilian Duarte solidified this. We decided to include a variety of guests that we’ve always wanted to collaborate with, like Trevor Strnad, Chaney Crabb, Brandon Ellis, Scott Carstairs, Jared Smith, and Jonathan Carpenter, and are beyond excited for everyone to hear them. We really wanted to push the boundaries of what fans expect from us while giving them the signature sound we’ve honed in that they’ve come to love. Personally, Ikigai is one of the greatest accomplishments of my life, especially after not knowing if the band was ever going to come back. But we’re back. And we’re here to stay.”

Track list:


1. Natsukashii
2. Ikigai
3. Covered the Cold Earth
4. Smoldered (Feat. Chaney Crabb of ENTHEOS)
5. The Wrath
6. If I Do Die (Feat. Brandon Ellis of THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER)
7. Souvenir of Skin (Feat. Trevor Strnad of THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER)
8. Her Opus Mangled (Feat. Jared Smith of ARCHSPIRE)
9. Horadric Cube (Feat. Scott Carstairs of FALLUJAH)
10. Grief Eater, Tear Drinker (Feat. Jonathan Carpenter ex-THE CONTORTIONIST)
11. Gyokusai

Ikigai (Teaser)

Submitted By

Souvenir of Skin

Submitted By



Download & Stream

  • Album download leak: It has not leaked yet.
  • Album stream: There is no official stream reported.
  • Album pre-order:

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response

Warning: If your comment includes an album download link or to an illegal download site, you will be banned!

Skip to toolbar