Album download leak

SITE: music4newgen



Five years since its last album, Mexican acoustic rock guitar duo RODRIGO Y GABRIELA is ready to embark on the next chapter of its remarkable story, with the release of the most ambitious music of its 20-year career. Titled "Mettavolution", the band's new LP will be released April 26 via ATO Records.

Three years in the making, "Mettavolution" brings together Rod and Gab's passionate interest in Buddhism, the history of human evolution and the liberation of the potential we have as a species; all expressed through the medium of two acoustic guitars. Conceived and composed in their studio in Ixtapa on the Mexican Pacific Coast, then road-tested in South America and the USA in 2017, before more finetuning and further tweaks on their Australian tour of 2018, a long list of new material has been distilled down to six new RODRIGO Y GABRIELA compositions and one audacious, jaw-dropping cover song.

RODRIGO Y GABRIELA has shared a first taste of the album in the form of "Echoes", a cover of the PINK FLOYD track, which takes up the whole of the second half of "Mettavolution". Longtime FLOYD fans, Rod and Gab lovingly pay homage to the prog-classic song off of the band's 1971 opus "Meddle", while at the same time weaving their own golden threads into its timeless textures, to create something exciting, contemporary and unforgettable.

Deep-rooted fans who discovered Rod and Gab through their 2006 self-titled breakout album have long recognized the Mexicans' mastery of their instruments. And while Rodrigo's shimmering, hummingbird flourishes hovering over Gabriela's extraordinary engine-room rhythm section are ever present on "Mettavolution", what sets this new record apart is the laser-guided focus on melody, energy and beat. There is not an ounce of excess baggage on the fresh, dynamic tunes that Rod and Gab present here, first on a white-hot side one that acknowledges the duo's thrash metal roots back in Mexico City and then gives way to the aforementioned incredible new arrangement of "Echoes", inspiringly reimagined for two acoustic guitars.

Rodrigo and Gabriela say: "We are big PINK FLOYD fans. That track, specially the live in Pompeii version means a lot to us, we even made a huge visual reference in our video for 'Hanuman'. Besides that, the lyrics are even more relevant now than they were 45 years ago, the search for knowledge about ourselves, it's becoming a key element for survival these days, that's what evolution is all about at the end of the day."

On working with noted producer Dave Sardy, the guitarists add: "Everything was ready for it, all the circumstances around the idea of agreeing to work with a producer came together right at the time we talked to Sardy. And our intuition was right. We talked to a lot of great producers before him but the conditions just weren't there. When we talked to Dave, it just felt we had arrived." Recorded in Los Angeles, Sardy — best-known for his work with OASIS, LCD SOUNDSYSTEM, A PERFECT CIRCLE and BAND OF HORSES — has helped Rod and Gab to a new recording career pinnacle.

Through relentless touring and terrific word-of-mouth support, RODRIGO Y GABRIELA has established itself as a hugely in-demand live act, particularly in America, where it sold out the Hollywood Bowl (two nights) and the Red Rocks Amphitheatre, both as recently as summer 2018. They have also sold out multiple nights at the Royal Albert Hall in London, Le Zenith in Paris and Radio City Music Hall in New York, not to mention venues in Australia, Japan and Europe. With career album sales well in excess of 1.5 million worldwide, RODRIGO Y GABRIELA has established itself as a globally successful artist which is eager to write new chapters in its already illustrious story.

Track list:


01. Mettavolution
02. Terracentric
03. Cumbé
04. Electric Soul
05. Krotona Days
06. Witness Tree
07. Echoes


Submitted By



Download & Stream

  • Album download leak: See leak report at the top of the page.
  • Album stream: There is no official stream reported.
  • Album pre-order:

Leave a Response

Warning: If your comment includes an album download link or to an illegal download site, you will be banned!

Skip to toolbar