Darkthrone It Beckons Us All



Darkthrone is back once again, though it seems they're going back to being a thrashier band this time around Darkthrone will release It Beckons Us All on April 26. All we've got so far is a 90-ish second trailer that showcases some chunky riffing and equally hefty production.

"I am having difficulties putting into words my personal feelings around the existential title It Beckons Us All, I can only hope others out there can feel the darkness that encompasses it," said drummer and vocalist Fenriz.

Guitarist and vocalist Nocturno Culto added: "We recorded in the manner we always do, live, meaning drums and guitar, with another guitar added later. We found a new twist during this process that surely benefited this album. Fenriz did stellar clean vocals on several songs, and his way of thinking creatively made it so good.

"We also shared the bass work this time around. We added a lot of extra layers like solo guitars… it was just a cauldron of ideas. Instead of finding a plug-in or choir synth patch, we both recorded four vocal tracks each. Darkthrone is an ever-evolving band, as many should know by now, and this album is touching a bit into the heavy genre. I have no idea what genre we are, and have really not cared much about it, but I know for sure it's metal."

It Beckons Us All was recorded in April and May 2023 at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the Eternal Hails and Astral Fortress albums, mastered by Jack Control at Enormous Door, with artwork courtesy of Polish artist Zbigniew Bielak.

Pre-orders for It Beckons Us All are available here. So just how good is this record? Fenriz elaborated in a video: "For this album, when we were done recording it and mixing it, [Nocturno Culto] actually shook my hand afterward because he was so pleased. And I don't think we've ever shook hands since I met him for the first time in spring '88. So that says it!"

Track list:


1. Howling Primitive Colonies 06:30
2. Eon 3 05:43
3. Black Dawn Affiliation 06:11
4. And in That Moment I Knew the Answer 03:17
5. The Bird People of Nordland 07:27
6. The Heavy Hand 04:18
7. The Lone Pines of the Lost Planet 10:03


Submitted By



Download & Stream

  • Album download leak: It has not leaked yet.
  • Album stream: There is no official stream reported.
  • Album pre-order: No pre-order link added.

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


Leave a Response

Warning: If your comment includes an album download link or to an illegal download site, you will be banned!

Skip to toolbar